Paleo Recipe: Butternut Squash Hash

IMG_8514

Hello Readers! First, I wanted to share with all of you that I’m feeling absolutely wonderful. I’m hive free, I’m optimistic, and things are looking up! As you know, There has been a two week gap in my posting following a hives relapse. You can read more about this at the bottom of the “Bucking the Trend” page! My recipes for a short while will be Paleo + Nightshade free. Lets start off with a new one: Butternut Squash Hash!

First, let me make one thing clear: I LOVE potatoes. I mean, they kept the Irish alive for centuries! I love them in a box, with a fox, in a tree, but most of all, drenched in sour cream and chives. Alas, out of fear that nightshades might be contributing to my hives, I’ve cut them out of my diet for the time being. So, I created an alternative using butternut squash! This recipe tastes a lot like a Sweet Potato hash (think the cubed potatoes you’d have served to you at Perkins or IHOP), and is easy and delicious. The most difficult part is cubing the butternut squash, which takes me nearly half an hour to do (if I’m cutting up a whole one). One half of a squash makes enough for 2 people, and you can halve everything in the recipe if you need to.

Butternut Squash Hash:

Ingredients:

1 Butternut Squash, peeled, cubed (I recommend warming the squash in the microwave for 1.5 to two minutes to make it easier to work with. Cutting it is dangerous! I cut through my thumbnail :/ )

1/2 White Onion, diced

Salt and Pepper

Olive Oil

Instructions:

Pretty much just Saute everything in a skillet with olive oil! I’d recommend caramelizing the onions in the skill for a bit before adding the squash, as this seems to impart a stronger onion flavor. Add the butternut squash (carefully, don’t splatter the hot oil on yourself. It burns your skin. I may or may not know this from experience…), and cook until it’s soft enough for you to split in half with a plastic spatchula. If you over cook the squash, it turns out a bit too mushy for my taste.

2 thoughts on “Paleo Recipe: Butternut Squash Hash

  1. Fascinating where this journey is taking you, just wish it were under better circumstances. Getting rid of the nightshades was life changing for my nephew, Eliminating potatoes and tomatoes produced a net change that was nothing short of miraculous. We are rooting for you and have already put this recipe on tomorrow’s menu. Best wishes!

  2. It has been an interesting journey indeed 🙂 I tried adding just a bit of red/green pepper to my dinner two days ago, and last night I had some very mild hives. So, it’s looking like nightshades may be one of the many culprits at the moment!

Leave a comment